Mike Pitts – Digging Deeper

Cover with Spine

The front cover of the new British Archaeology is inevitably a bit sombre, but it’s a reminder of how fortunate we were to have had Mick Aston among us. I run an obituary-listing feature at the end of every year (about 60 individuals in the last one); and very occasionally deaths will be noticed of particularly well known and influential archaeologists during the course of the year. But the only archaeologist who has appeared in their own right on the cover before was Mick himself. I doubt there will be another while I’m still editing.

Greg Bailey has written about Mick and broadcasting, I created a My archaeology column by bringing together fragments from various texts Mick had written for the magazine over the years, and there is Mick’s own final Travels column – on the Isle of Purbeck. And I wrote a short appreciation. “If we care”, he said…

View original post 283 more words