The  4,000-5,000 year-old Toormore Wedge Tomb in West Cork, Republic of Ireland
Image credit and © Michael Mitchell
 
Michael Mitchell, writing on The Modern Antiquarian recently about his visit to the Toormore Wedge Tomb in West Cork, Republic of Ireland, reports that –
 
I had really been looking forward to getting to this ancient site. Imagine my disappointment, when walking round the track, I was met with this beautiful wedge tomb being used as a dustbin storage unit! I didn’t even recognise it at first and thought that I was in the wrong place… alas no! Maybe the new owners don’t realise just what they actually have on their land… there certainly didn’t seem to be much respect for it!
 
Damage or inappropriate use of a monument in the Republic of Ireland can be reported to the National Monuments Service, by phoning 01 888 2000 or e-mailing them at the nationalmonuments@ahg.gov.ie